Short Cut

Standard

So how was your Thanksgiving? Mine was pretty fantastic and I think a new tradition was born.

20121123-095920.jpg
Gobble, gobble! I got second place in my age group in the Thanksgiving 5k my town had! I actually felt pretty crappy during my run so I’m gunning for 1st next year! But really, what a great way to start the day before eating (too much) and laying around playing Words With Friends, stalking blogs I adore, and watching football!!
Today, I’m so proud of the recipe I have to share with you! With the holidays coming, I think this is a fantastic dish for a small get together! This dish will look like you spent hours in the kitchen, but with the short cuts I made, you’ll have a wonderful dish in no time!
Sometimes I’m just too busy, or too lazy to follow directions. So when I saw this chicken recipe on Pinterest, I knew I had to find a way to make something like it! So I did…

20121123-095530.jpg

20121123-095559.jpg
This chicken had amazing flavor! The puréed cauliflower complemented it well. Yes, that is cauliflower and not potatoes. This is a pretty healthy dish!

20121123-105405.jpg

20121123-105413.jpg

20121123-105420.jpg

For Chicken:
chicken breast, boneless, skinless, cut into strips
your favorite spices for chicken, I used half of a McCormick packet, it seemed like a lot
egg
olive oil
panko, I used a Parmesan Herbed type from Private Selection
Bruschetta, I used Private Selection brand
For Cauliflower:
cauliflower, I used a steamer bag type
light sour cream (or Greek yogurt)
pizza seasonings (I just like all the flavors in it)
Parmesan (flake style)
1. In a container, season chicken with spices and lightly coat in olive oil. Cover dish. Refrigerate for at least four hours (mine refrigerated overnight).
2. After chicken has had time to marinade, beat egg in a dish and put panko in paper bag. Dip chicken in egg and then shake in bag of panko.

20121123-110734.jpg
3. Place panko coated chicken on a cookie sheet that is lightly coated in olive oil. Spray top of chicken with oil so panko will brown.

20121123-111036.jpg
4. Bake chicken at 400 until it is the appropriate internal temperature. Depending on the size of your chicken strips times will vary. Mine took about thirty minutes and I checked for doneness with a meat thermometer.
5. When chicken is towards the end of its cooking time, prepare your cauliflower. Mine took four minutes in microwave.
6. Once it was cool enough to touch, I dumped cauliflower into the food processor, added pizza seasoning, Parmesan and a few table spoons of sour cream. Blend until smooth. Taste mixture and adjust seasoning to your preference.

20121123-112803.jpg

20121123-112814.jpg
7. Plate cauliflower purée, top with chicken and top chicken with bruschetta. Serve!!!

20121123-112957.jpg

20121123-113011.jpg

20121123-113020.jpg

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

