Oh Charlie!

Standard

I have a love-hate relationship with sub shops! Typically, I opt for a salad but I really want to run out of there with loaves of bread packed full of tasty meats and hot melty cheese. Well today I came to a compromise (I do that a lot with cravings šŸ™‚ ).

20121024-213526.jpg

20121024-214511.jpg
The stuffing in this pepper was so tasty! It reminded me of grilled turkey sandwiches I would get from a small deli during my college years. I wish there would have been leftovers because I would have loved to used it in the morning in an omelet. Maybe next time!

20121024-215646.jpg

20121024-215808.jpg
So in full disclosure, I would have preferred to use real bacon strips, but I didn’t plan to use bacon at all until I started cooking (hence the reason it isn’t in the first picture). Also I decided I wanted the mixture to have a slight creamy texture, so I used Laughing Cow wedges. When this mixture all came together, it smelled so good!
Here is what I used:
bell peppers (seeded and halved)
mushrooms, chopped
onion, chopped
oven roasted turkey (steer clear of the honey types unless you want a sweetness to your dish)
bacon, cook or precooked
Laughing Cow cheese (I used 3 flavored wedges)
provolone
1-2 tbsp butter
I did not give exact measurements, stuff you peppers to you liking (more meat or more veggies).
1. Set oven to 450 and cook halved peppers, cut side down in a sprayed dish until the tops begin looking cooked. Mine took about 15-20 minutes.
2. While peppers are cooking, chop veggies.

20121024-221528.jpg
3. In a lightly sprayed pan, add butter, onion and mushroom. Cook over medium to medium-high heat, let the onions get nice and caramel brown.

20121024-222132.jpg
4. Stir in cheese, bacon and turkey, allowing cheese to coat everything.

20121024-222530.jpg
Yummy!! Wouldn’t this be perfect with leftover Thanksgiving turkey?!
5. Flip peppers in a dish cut side up. Stuff those peppers and top with provolone. Yep, I forgot a picture!

20121024-222931.jpg
6. I would have topped mine with lettuce, tomato and a tiny pinch of mayo (just like a sandwich), except I ate all of my lettuce earlier in the day.

20121024-223952.jpg
Eat it up!! šŸ˜‰

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

