Fast Food Cravings

Standard

If you read my blog often, you know I’m not much of a fast food person. Not that I don’t enjoy a burger or the convince of having a meal for four in less than five minutes, but the regret of the calories that come with that sandwich (amongst other concerns) make me avoid it for the most part. But sometimes, I really want something fast and fast food-ish. Lately, it has been tacos.
Luckily, this dish made a yummy, fast, fast food compromise.

20121002-214048.jpg
Skinny Doritos Taco Bake
I originally saw this recipe on Pinterest (your shocked, I know). My husband LOVED this meal. Like three servings in one sitting love. I may have been slightly jealous that I didn’t come up with it on my own :(.

20121002-220413.jpg
The only change I made to this recipe is that I added some ranch seasonings along with the taco seasoning. I can’t tell you how simple this was to put together so I’ll show you pictures instead!

20121002-221051.jpg

20121002-221135.jpg

20121002-221227.jpg

20121002-221322.jpg

20121002-221421.jpg

Told you it was easy! The best part, one serving is an entire 1/8th of that casserole dish and it comes in at only 320 calories! Good luck getting that at a fast food joint.
The next time I make this, I think I would like to top it with some lettuce, tomatoes and taco sauce (after cooking it of course). I might also consider using regular Doritos just because I’m not a huge fan of the baked (obviously this swap would add more calories per serving).
Speaking of baked chips, why haven’t they made baked Fritos?!
My thanks goes out to Mama Laughlin for this awesome dish!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

