Twice Baked Cauliflower

Standard

Sometimes people think of cauliflower as a replacement for potatoes or pasta in dishes. Although that is true, I think the cauliflower in this dish is no alternative or second option. I think it is the highlight of what makes this dish. So. Darn. Good.

20120815-083448.jpg

20120815-083520.jpg

Twice Baked Cauliflower

As I mentioned before, my husband was sick all weekend. So when I made this dish, I was a little excited at all the leftover there would be. Well that didn’t happen. Sick or not sick, he slammed this dish, and there was hardly any left the next day. 😦 good thing I bought TWO heads of cauliflower!

I exchanged a lot of high fat ingredients so tat this dish would be lower in calories (my excuse to go crazy on birthday cake this weekend). If you want a richer casserole (and it WILL be rich) go with the regular on the low fat ingredients I use (it will also be lower carb!)

20120815-084418.jpg

Here is what you’ll need:

1 head of cauliflower, cut into large pieces, stem removed.

4oz low fat cream cheese (Philadelphia is GF)

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (sour cream will work too however some varieties of sour cream is not GF if you are following GF diet. Chobani greek yogurt says they are GF.)

1/4 cup chives

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan (again make sure the cheese you select is GF, pre shredded cheeses typically are not).

3-6 strips of bacon (mine was large center cut so I used four)

1/2 fresh cheddar cheese (if you use bagged pre-shredded you may want to use up to a cup (select GF variety if following GF diet))

Pepper

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. In a large pot, boil water and add in cauliflower and boil until tender but not too soft.

3. While cauliflower is boiling, fry bacon and set aside.

4. Drain cauliflower and put into a bowl. Smash cauliflower but leave a little chunky.

5. Add in yogurt, chives, cream cheese, Parmesan, pepper and bacon (leave a strip or two for top depending on how much you cooked). Mix everything together (I just mashed and mixed at the sae time.

20120815-085648.jpg

20120815-085710.jpg

6. Put ingredients into a small casserole dish. Top with cheddar and additional bacon.

7. Bake for 30-35 minutes until dish is hot and bubbly. Serve! Or hide for yourself. Whatever! 🙂

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pesky Little Hip Pain | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  2. Pingback: Twice Baked Cauliflower & running plan | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  3. I’ve made this twice and the first time it was amazing! I thought I remembered using cottage cheese that time and I used swiss instead of parmesan. But the second time I made it I followed the recipe again which doesn’t say cottage cheese and I used parmesan, like the recipe called for. It came out still good, but much dryer than the first time. Maybe it was just the type of cheese, but I’m wondering if I missed something. My question…I see cottage cheese in the picture of ingredients, but don’t see it in the instructions. Did you use it? Thanks!

    • No I didn’t use cottage cheese. I think I pulled it out of the fridge by accident. Cottage cheese is relish so if it turned out well I say why not! Or you could try more wet ingredients (sour cream, yogurt). I think cheese quality factors in too!

Leave a Reply

