Summer Love

Standard

I’m obsessed with fruits and veggies right now! I feel like any minute summer is going to end and the abundance of (cheap!) local produce will be gone. So right now, I’m doing my best to incorporate them into ever meal. My newest favorite?

20120806-083152.jpg

20120806-083244.jpg
Zucchini Tots! These babies have been all over blog world lately! I was worried that they would only “look” good but lack in taste. I was wrong. I’m also so happy that I followed my instinct to double the recipe. Although I have a feeling I’ll be making more today for my lunch the next few days! Also, this should be no suprise, according to my calculations…these tots are pretty low cal (not that you have to tell anyone that!)
Of course I had to tweak the recipes I’ve seen floating around juuuusst a little.

20120806-083705.jpg

My recipe will make about 30 tots in a mini muffin pan.
You will need:
2 cups shredded zucchini (mine was a bit over this)
1/2 cup diced onion (again a bit over)
1/4 cup shaved Parmesan
1/4 cup shaved gruyere
1/2 cup breadcrumb (I used Italian seasoned)
2-3 eggs (my eggs were pretty small so 2 large should do the trick)
1/2-1 tsp smoked paprika
salt and pepper to taste

I served my tots with a quick and easy dip!
For the dip you will need:
Plain Greek yogurt
Dry ranch seasonings

1. Preheat oven to 400.
2. Squeeze the zucchini until extra moisture in out! This is super important and here is my visual why.

20120806-084748.jpg
Ready to squeeze.

20120806-084829.jpg
The excess “moisture”!
I also recommend using a thin towel (nothing you want to keep pretty) instead of paper towels.
3. Mix seasonings in with breadcrumb. Then mix together everything except eggs. Once everything is mixed stir in eggs.
4. In a sprayed mini muffin pan, spoon in mixture filling to top.
Bake for 15-18 minutes or until tots look nice ad golden brown.

For dip, combine roughly 1/2 cup yogurt and 1-2 tablespoons of ranch seasonings. If it is too intense add more yogurt, to dull add more seasonings!

20120806-085808.jpg

20120806-085825.jpg

I begining to wonder if this recipe would work with other veggies?? Let me know if you’ve tried something different out!

Recipe adapted from: The Curious Country Cook…

4 responses »

  1. I’ve been seeing those all over the place too! I guess I will have to try them 🙂 Looks good! I’m loving all the fruits and veggies available this time of year too!

Leave a Reply

