And the Winner is…

Standard

First off, I want to thank everyone who participated in my giveaway sponsored by SlimKicker! You have all inspired me with great health and fitness ideas and I plan on incorporating many of them in the next few weeks!
SlimKicker has chosen franchesca2008 as the winner!

franchesca2008 said:

“No complaining for 30 days challenge :)  It’s hard but do not mentally complain about anything, and always look on the bright side of life.”

Franchesca I will be emailing you with info on how to get your prize sent to you!

Now let’s move on to not only one of my new favorite dressings that is not only delicious but also low cal!
So one of my BFFs, had been carrying on about the salad dressings over at Skinny Taste. We both enjoy her recipes and are making them quite frequently. I’m not sure why, but I guess I had put off trying her dressing because I typically don’t plan salads ahead and use whatever I have on hand for dressing. I’ve decided today this dressing will now be a staple in our house!

20120727-160039.jpg
Zesty Avocado Cilantro Buttermilk Dressing
The great news is that this is a simple dressing to make!

20120727-160729.jpg
Here is what you’ll need:

1 clove of garlic
3/4 to 1 cup of low fat buttermilk (original recipe called for 3/4 but I thought it was pretty thick for dressing, if you want a dip, the 3/4 cup is perfect, if you want it thinner, add more buttermilk.)
1 small Jalepeño (seeded) apparently everyone wanted Jalepeño the day I went to get one, I had to settle for a small can of diced. I added a little extra because I like the kick!
1/4 cup cilantro
1 avocado, pit and skin removed
2 tbsp chives
juice of a lime
1/8 tsp cumin
Salt and pepper to taste.

1. Throw all of your ingredients into a food processor and blend.
Serve!
This is so good! We were dipping everything into it! Next time (tonight) I will be making it with a Southwest salad! Ohhh it would be great with Southwest egg rolls too!!

Recipe adapted from SkinnyTaste.

Leave a Reply

