Ready to Go!

Standard

Ever since we got home from vacation, I have been making a serious commute for a special work project. Although I enjoyed the project immensely, I’m glad today was the last day of that chaos!!
Since I’m so over fast food, I wanted to make sure we had something substantial that could be reheated when I finally made it home at night.

20120720-183401.jpg

20120720-183425.jpg
Green Chicken Stew!! This dish was so worth the wait!

When I made this dish, I wanted to cook the ingredients quickly, otherwise it would have been a great dish for the crockpot! Speaking of my crockpot, if you are interesting in winning a free crockpot click here!

20120720-183943.jpg

Another reason I made this stew on the stove top, is because clearly I was indecisive about exactly wanted I wanted to use in this dish.

Here is what I decided on:
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 large clove of garlic, minced
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 4oz jar of green chili peppers
1 pound ground chicken
28 oz diced tomatoes in juice
4 red potatoes, chopped
1-16 oz jar salsa verde
1 cup frozen corn

optional toppings: pepper jack cheese (highly recommended), tortilla chips, sour cream, a couple slices of Jalepeño if you like things real spicy!

1. In a large pot pour in oil and bring heat to medium, add garlic and push around in the pan for a second (never allow garlic to burn, if it does, clean pan and start over).
2. Turn heat up to medium-high, add in onion and red pepper allow to cook for 2-3 minutes.
3. Add in chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink.
4. Add tomatoes in juice, jar of salsa verde, and potatoes, bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat and cover and allow to simmer, stir occasionally until potatoes are soft.
5. Add in corn and allow to cook for another 10-20 minutes.
6. Top with jack cheese and serve with tortilla chips!

20120720-185643.jpg

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

