Are These Corn Cakes?

Standard

That is really a question because I’m honestly not sure! All I can say, whatever they were, they were mighty good!

20120603-220000.jpg

Sorry my photo color looks a little dim. I ended up having to work for a few hours tonight so even though it was super late I was determined to make this recipe!

20120603-220227.jpg

Turns out more than time was working against me :(. I meant to have cornmeal for my mix but at the last minute I realized all I had was a box of cornstarch. I may have said a cuss word…or two. Cut me some slack, I turn hangry when dinner gets super late!

So I decided I had to come up with a substitution. First thought, almond flour, then coconut flour, panko breadcrumbs?? Nah, if it was going to remotely resemble corn cakes it needed to be some sorta corn something. I dug around in the pantry and came across the ranch flavored corn chips. Let’s give it a go!

20120603-221736.jpg

Corn chips and some cilantro into the food processor. Had I had cornmeal, I would have added salt and pepper, but since the chips were flavored I didn’t want to over do it.

So how to make these, you will need:
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup of cornmeal (tortilla chips were a yummy substitution!)
1 cup milk
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 tbsp oil plus addition oil for skillet
3/4 cup corn, extra for topping
1/4 cup black beans, extra for topping
cilantro
Additional topping ideas: avocado, cheese, lime, red onion, cilantro.

1. In a big bowl combine, flour, cornmeal, baking powder, cilantro (a couple tbsp is fine) salt and pepper if you are lucky enough to have cornmeal. Use a whisk to mix up dry ingredients.
2. Push dry ingredients to outer edge of bowl leaving hole in center.

20120603-222834.jpg

3. Pour milk, egg and tablespoon of oil in the center. Whisk starting in the center and work your way out. Don’t over mix.

20120603-223639.jpg

4. Lightly stir in corn and black beans.
5. Oil skillet and bring up heat skillet to medium high heat.
6. Drop about 1/4-1/3 cup of batter into skillet and cook for around 3-4 minutes on each side or until each side is golden and toasty looking.
7. Top and serve!

20120603-224026.jpg

20120603-224048.jpg

So do you think I can call them corn cakes?? BTW: These cakes would have made a light, flavorful dish on their own! The grass fed beef we got from a local farm made this one of the best dished ev-a! (Yes..I meant ev-a) 🙂

Leave a Reply

