Kale Crazy?

Standard

Do you garden? Do you have kale coming out the wazoo? I only ask because we do! Some days I’m not sure what to do with it all.

20120529-211331.jpg

This girl would suggest you hand it over to her and her friends, muy pronto. They love kale and I’m often chasing them out of my garden. Typically, they put up a pretty good fight by separating and taking turns attacking the veggies while I’m chasing the others. I won’t even start rambling about the workout you can get raising chickens.

So how did I get started on this tangent about kale? Well earlier today I saw a new idea of blending kale and watermelon to make a smoothie. Huh. I’m going to have to try that out! For more regarding that idea I suggest you click here.

My neighbor recently asked me how to cook kale. Although I’m sure there are lots of ways, today I’ll share my two go-to versions.

20120529-212249.jpg

Garlicky baked kale and bacon!

This is fairly quick and easy.

What you need:
kale, rinse and rip the stems out (I use lots since it shrinks so much!)
garlic clove, minced
olive oil, a dab will do!
2-4 strips of bacon, chopped (I use center cut)

1. Not sure if this is necessary but bacon freaks me out if I think it is undercooked and to me it seems to cook slower than the kale. With that said, the first thing I do is partially cook bacon in a pan.
2. In a bowl, add kale and garlic. Drizzle (or spritz) in olive oil just enough to lightly coat kale and garlic (don’t use much since you are adding bacon soon which will render a little more fat.)
3. Mix in bacon. Pour everything into a cookie sheet.
4. Bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes. Serve!!

Need something a little more hearty? Add more…stuff!

20120529-214138.jpg

Sautéed Kale and Beans

This version is cooked in a deep skillet. Here is what you’ll need:
kale, rinsed and stems removed
2-4 strips bacon, chopped (still using center cut)
garlic clove, minced
olive oil, just a mist
great northern beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 cup (or so) broth, I used chicken
red pepper flakes, just a tiny bit to freak your husband out 🙂

1. Spray pan with olive oil and bring up to medium, medium-high heat. Toss in bacon.
2. Allow bacon to cook for a minute or so and add minced garlic and onion. Cook until onion starts to become translucent.
3. Add in kale, beans, pepper flakes and broth. Cover and cook for about five minutes. Uncover and continue to cook until broth has evaporated. Serve!

Clearly I love to eat kale with sandwiches?? Not sure what that is about 😉

So any other suggestions for kale? Casserole? Sauce or something else? I’d love to hear about it!

3 responses »

  1. What about a Kale Pesto –you could serve it with pasta and some white kidney beans? Maybe I’ll whip this up tonight and let you know. Never made it but what isn’t better than fresh Kale. I posted about crispy kale in 10 minutes and a blueberry kale smoothie recently if you are interested. Love Kale and it’s so great for you!.

Leave a Reply

