20 Calorie Cookies?

Standard

Are you interested? I was, but I was leery too. Do you know how many times I’ve tested out low calorie or low carb cookies only to be disappointed? So there is good news, bad news and more good news to this post. 1. The taste is great. 2. You should be able to make 12 cookies with the batter for them to be twenty calories each. I ended up with eight and there was no way I could just eat one. 3. There is only 250 calories in the entire batch and their ingredients make them perfect for breakfast!!

The funny thing about these cookies is that these have my typical breakfast ingredients in them already, just manipulated a little differently!

20120527-092303.jpg

20120527-092346.jpg

So naturally I added about a tablespoon on butterscotch chips to the batter because butterscotch, oats and cinnamon are amazing together. Yes that does add more calories so decide for yourself if you want to add them in.

20120527-092755.jpg

Here is what you’ll need:
one large banana, mashed
1/2 oats, this can be gluten free if you get GF oats, I believe Trader Joes carries GF oats.
1/4 tsp baking powder, select GF baking powder if needed for GF diet
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp vanilla
pinch of nutmeg
optional: butterscotch chips. Tip: chop chips in half, you’ll feel like you’re getting more and the will distribute better throughout you cookies.

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Add vanilla to mashed banana in a bowl. Stir in cinnamon, nutmeg and baking powder. Once well mixed add in chips.
3. Lightly fold oats into mix but do not over stir.
4. Drop batter onto sprayed cookie sheet and bake for 20-30 minutes. Mine were done in 20.

20120527-093718.jpg

Serve!

Original recipe from burpeesinthekitchen.com

12 responses »

  1. Oh dear, I’m doomed. Good thing they’re low calorie! I’ve searched high and low lately for some decent, low-calorie cookies and I’ve failed miserably at finding a recipe. So excited to try these!

    • Thanks! I really enjoyed them and they took no time at all to get in the oven. If you are looking for some low cal cookie/cupcake ideas, I have a few more under my recipes page. Look for the Nutella Fluff Sandwich and Low Cal Frosted Cupcakes. ENJOY!

      • So, update. I made these tonight for dessert. I didn’t have any butterscotch chips, so I added 1/4 ounce of shaven semisweet baking chocolate. These were SO GOOD! I almost think I want to make these for breakfast!

      • Perfect! I’m glad you enjoyed them! I made them for breakfast and I had to remind myself that it wasn’t sinful because the taste was deceiving. Semisweet chocolate would be good too!

  2. Pingback: First broil and 20-calorie cookies « Me Cook Yummy One Day

  3. I think I am with you on the chips (I would go for chocolate – need to satisfy those chocoholic cravings!!!) Maybe some dried cranberries for colour…but then they wouldn’t be 20 calorie cookies anymore! Ooops.

    • That sounds fabulous! Or dark chocolate and dried cherry! Both would still be better for you than the stuff sitting on the shelf at the grocery store. See, I can put a positive spin on ANYTHING!!

  4. OH MY GOODNESS!!! I am in love. Instead of cookies I pressed them out into granola bars…BEST IDEA EVER. My stomach thanks you.

  5. these are delish! i also added a little whipped peanut butter on the cookies when I took them out of the oven and it made them even better! thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

