Another Great Cookout Dish

Standard

Another cookout recipe! Quinoa Southwest Salad! This is great for the summer and it doesn’t have any mayo or sour cream that you have to worry about going bad. This salad is perfect served chilled so you can make it a day ahead of time. I won’t even get into all the nutritional benefits!

20120521-070903.jpg

When I visited the farmers market in Dayton way back when, Aunt M was in love with their quinoa salad. I actually purchased my quinoa there in hopes of coming up with a crafty dish.

Please note, in my picture I added cucumber. I think I was just craving cucumber so not much thought came into play when I added it in. The second day of eating this salad, I realized a bell pepper would have been a much better choice. Red bell pepper would have been perfect!

20120521-073845.jpg

20120521-073550.jpg

Here is what you need:

1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed before cooking according to package. If you don’t rinse your quinoa, it will taste like crap. Get a fine mesh strainer from the dollar store. Also if you need a GF dish, make sure your quinoa states that it is GF.
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 avocado (dice and stir in right before serving)
1 bell pepper, seeded and chopped
corn, about 1 1/2-2 cups, de-thaw if frozen
1 sweet potato, peeled an chopped and cooked until super soft, I boiled mine in a pan
Jalapeño, minced serving size to taste I used about 5-6 rings from a jar
1/2 or more juice of fresh lime or 2 tsp of Rosie’s lime juice
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Cilantro 1-2 tbsp or more to taste, I would have used more, I just didn’t have as much on hand as I thought
Salt

1. Rinse and then cook quinoa according to package. Allow quinoa to cool off.
2. Add everything except avocado to a bowl. Stir in cooled quinoa. Add salt to preference.
3. Chill for at least an hour but better overnight. Taste and add more salt, jalapeño or lime juice/oil if needed.
4. Add avocado right before serving.

20120521-074126.jpg

Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Oh a competition with cho cho chocolate?? I can see that! Avocado…Chips…Corona…Muhwahahahha! No really, I’m loving avocado right now too! Actually, I always love it! Quinoa is still pretty new to me, but I’m really enjoying trying out different dishes with it!

    • Yes! They look like a small white ball of grain or a seed when they are dry. There is also a red variety. When you cook the quinoa it puffs up and turn almost clear. They have a mild flavor so they can be cooked as part of a sweetened breakfast dish or something like what I used it in. Whatever you do, make sure you rinse it first or else it tastes like bitter crud.

Leave a Reply

