The Cookouts are Coming!

Standard

I love brownies. I do my best to avoid them because I can’t stop myself when they are around. I worked at a little diner type place when I was in college and they made brownies that I called crack brownies. So good. It’s been years since I’ve met a brownie that is comparable. Then I met these.

20120520-160018.jpg

My picture doesn’t do them justice. You can call them turtle brownies, I call the perfect. I was asked to make the dessert for a cookout. I thought that these would be great and it would stop me from consuming the entire pan on my own.

20120520-160647.jpg

Here is what you need:

one box of German chocolate cake mix
2/3 cup evaporated milk, divided
3/4 cup of butter, melted
14 oz package of caramels (they missed their photo op)
1 cup of chocolate chips
1/2 cup pecans

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. In a sauce pan over low heat, melt unwrapped caramels and 1/3 cup of evaporated milk. Stir often.
3. Mix butter, rest of evaporated milk and cake mix in a bowl.
4. Spread 1/2 batter into a 9×13 cake pan. I used a plastic cookie scraper and that smoothed it out nicely, it will be rather thin. Bake for 6-8 minutes.

20120520-163005.jpg

20120520-163027.jpg

5. Remove pan from oven. Sprinkle pecans and chocolate chips, pour caramel on top and dollop scoops of leftover batter on top.
6. Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes. Don’t over cook. If you do accidentally (like me 🙂 ) don’t fret, taste them! Mine seemed super cooked on the top but they weren’t when I cut them, in fact, they were incredible!!

Serve!!!! These brownies were a hit. They were completely gone before we left the cookout.

Original recipe from Bake at 350. You’re amazing!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

