Would You Vote For This?

Standard

20120418-213634.jpg

Cilantro, Black Bean, Corn Salsa 🙂

20120418-213946.jpg

20120418-214007.jpg

Of course it is fantastic on a chip, but don’t underestimate how versatile it is!

20120418-214253.jpg

I actually also had this on a bed of romaine with some grilled chicken. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take a picture of that dish until after I inhaled ate it.

Don’t be fooled though, this is an awesome side dish on its own!

What is all of this vote talk?
Danny at Danny’s Kitchen, is having a fun contest called, “the great leftover challenge.”

What is it? Basically readers were asked to submit a dish that was created based on leftovers. Initially, I wanted to create something, but my mind went blank. While rummaging through my fridge I had an epiphany, and came up with this dish! A friend of mine introduced me to corn salsa. I. Love. It. Looking around my fridge I thought, why not expand on it!

Danny will be posting all of the entries over the weekend. I hope you’ll stop over and vote! Click Here to go to the Danny’s site. You should click either way, he is a great cook with a great blog!

So what’s in this salsa?

Here is what I used:
1 bag frozen white corn, totally thawed and pat dry with a paper towel
1 bag yellow corn, also thawed and dried
1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
1 container of yellow cherry tomatoes, halved (red would be ok too)
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 avocado, diced (read below before cutting)
2-3 tbsp jalapeño peppers, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp sweetened lime juice (I use Rosie’s found in liquor isle at larger grocery stores)
Salt to taste

I can’t stress how important that the corn is thawed and dry.

1. Mix all ingredients except avocado.
2. This makes a large batch, if serving all at once, stir in avocado right before serving. If you are having a little at a time, I would only use what you will eat right away.
3. This dish continues to get better as it hangs out in the fridge, so feel free to make it hours or a day ahead of time!

I’d like to thank Danny for giving me the idea on how to use my over abundance of frozen corn (apparently I buy a bag everytime I’m at the store?), that lurking can of black beans, and the near death avocado!

Again, thanks again to my cooking buddy for the corn salsa concept!!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Great Leftover Challenge: Let the Voting Begin! | Danny's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

