Spring Is Here!

Standard

My eyes are slightly itchy today:( I guess that is just how it goes when you spend the day outside! Between pulling weeds, walking and hanging outside the allergies are bound to get stirred up. We have way too many flower beds. Have I ever told you that? They are LARGE flower beds. The flowers and I are at war with the weeds. Since I try not to use weed killer (or let my husband), hours are spent pulling weeds. So redundant! In addition to the weeds, there was a lot of other overgrowth from where our house sat vacant for so long before we bought it. My husband has spent lots of time clearing land for various projects. One we started last year was the garden….the garden is a work in progress. We may have delayed that progress a wee bit when we borrowed the wood that enclosed it to finish the chicken coop! It will be replaced…soon…

20120415-214253.jpg

My husband cleared the land last spring for the garden, we weren’t even sure if anything would grow because the land is really rocky. Fortunately we were proved wrong! This year we got some early spring produce in and everything seems to be coming along great!

20120415-214741.jpg

20120415-214841.jpg

20120415-214859.jpg

So if you were debating about your own garden, I would say to try a variety of things and see what works for you. We can’t grow regular tomatoes but cherry tomatoes go nuts.

To go with the spring theme, I had to share a springy dish!

20120415-215717.jpg

Greek Yogurt Chicken Salad!

This is such an easy recipe and pretty guilt free!

20120415-220456.jpg

When I made this dish, I wanted to have plenty of leftovers of lunch. This made roughly 4 servings.

Here is what you’ll need:

2 large chicken breast cooked and shredded (rotisserie would be great!)

1 1/2 cups halved grapes

4 stalks celery, cut thinly

1/2 cup Greek plain yogurt

3 tsp honey and dijon mustard

salt and pepper to taste

honey roasted almonds (chopped)

1. Mix yogurt, honey, Dijon and salt and pepper

2. In a bowl, combine chicken, grapes and celery.

3. Stir yogurt mixture into chicken mixture. I allowed mix to chill before serving and sprinkled about 1/8 cup of almonds on top. I also served everything over some fresh romaine. Enjoy!

Recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

Leave a Reply

