A Salad Breakthrough

Standard

Do you ever feel that when others make salads they taste so much better than your own? Recently, I had two of those situations! One of them was really different to me and I was eager to try it out myself. Instead of it just being a side salad though, I wanted to make it a complete meal. I was glad I did because I felt it was super satisfying! I also decided to make a simple dressing that went along perfectly.

This salad has way too many wonderful ingredients and I had a hard time describing the perfect name. How about, The Perfect Salad? Muhwahahaha!!

What are some of those perfect ingredients?

Pears and Cucumber!

Dried Cranberry, Goat Cheese and Walnuts

Here is what you’ll need to make this salad!

romaine lettuce

walnuts/or honey roasted almonds (I made these salads like three times back to back so I eventually ran out of walnuts and went to honey roasted almonds)

cranberry

goat cheese

pear, peeled and diced (I used one)

english cucumber, peeled and diced (I used 1/2)

grilled chicken breast, chopped (I seasoned minced with olive oil, salt and pepper before grilling)

That’s it! I feel that all of the ingredients can be adjusted for how much you like them.

And how about a dressing that is so simple, you’ll probably already had a lot of the ingredients for it on hand.

I really enjoyed this dressing, it really complemented the flavor of the salad without overpowering it.

Here is what I used:

minced garlic, 1-2cloves

olive oil 1/2 cup

cider vinegar (I had an orange vinegar if my spanish is accurate!) 1/4 cup (or more to taste)

honey, 1 tbsp

salt and pepper and a bit of lemon juice to taste

Start with oil and whisk in all other ingredients. Taste dressing and adjust ingredients to taste. I suggest tossing dressing with lettuce, cucumber and pear and then added all other ingredients. You will probably have left over dressing depending on the size of the salad you make.

Leave a Reply

