Post Holiday Guilt?

Standard

I may have just a tiny bit! All weekend I tried to keep things in check. Yesterday, I think I was super tired and all my inhibition was lost. Sigh. So I may have over indulged in a few treats. Fortunately I had planned a rather healthy dinner so things didn’t get too out of control!

Other than that, let’s talk about the fun we had!

Easter Egg Hunt!!

They had so much fun and thankfully they ended up with a rather equal bounty.

We all woke up Easter morning to an unexpected gift hanging on our mailbox.  If you know who sent this to us we were all curious. I texted a few likely people and asked but none of them seemed to know what I was talking about.

How nice! Surprises always make my day!

So let’s move on to a recipe I’ve been meaning to share with you!

Chicken Enchilada Pasta!

Here is what I used:

2 marinated cooked chicken breasts, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

2 minced garlic cloves

1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1 (4 oz) can of diced green chiles, drained

green enchilada sauce (I used an entire jar and I believe it was 16 oz but original recipe called for 20 oz.)

red enchilada sauce (since I was short on the green I added the entire 16 oz jar of the red instead of 2/3 cup)

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt (I felt this is optional, I left it out)

2 cups shredded cheese (I used 1 1/2 cups in sauce and saved rest to top the dish)

1 cup sour cream (I used 1/2 cup in sauce and saved the rest to top the dish)

penne pasta

Optional Toppings

sour cream

shredded cheese

tomatoes

green onions

avocado

black olives

1. Cook penne pasta according to box, drain.

2. While pasta is cooking, add oil to skillet and heat to medium-medium high heat. Sauté garlic, onion and red peppers in skillet until peppers are soft and onion translucent.

3. Add in chicken, green chilies, chili powder, cumin, salt and enchilada sauces. Allow everything to simmer for about 8-10 minutes.

4. Reduce heat to LOW! Make sure sauce is not boiling, then add in sour cream and cheese. This part apparently freaks some people out because if the sour cream can curdle if too hot. I don’t think this was an issue with my sauce. However, I tasted the sauce before the cheese and sour cream was added and I really felt that it was good as is. So if you are anti dairy or just fearful of curdling, you can totally skip this step!

5. Carefully mix sauce into drained pasta.

6. Top with optional toppings and serve!

I found my recipe for this at 366 Days of Pinterest!!

Leave a Reply

