Shake It Up!

Standard

So when I was taking a shower today, I had an epiphany. In some way, I see a little piece of who I am in all of my blogging buddies. I guess birds of a feather really do flock together! I wouldn’t say that any of us are exactly the same, but I know some of you are vegetarians, some are clean eaters, some are fitness freaks, some are adventurous chefs while maybe a few of you like to play it safe in the kitchen. I have all of those attitudes towards cooking, but it really changes day to day. Maybe that is why I rarely make the same meal exactly the same way.

With that said, today is not about meals. Oh no, today is about shakes! I’ve been hitting the gym pretty hard lately. I’d love to know, are you guys the all in or nothing type? That is pretty much who I am. If I do it, I have to do it consistently or else I won’t do it at all. And I really wish one of my instructors would quit saying, “it isn’t what your neighbor can do, it is what you can do, so just give the best you got.” I really want to say, no in my mind, we are totally competing :). LOL.

Since I’ve been on the go, I’ve really been in the mood for a shake here or there. So today I have two. I can see some of you not liking them both, but for you rebels out there, I can see you going for both of them. Today I got a few sample packets of different flavors of shake mixes. The guy told me I could buy a four pack of ready made ones that were on sale. I quickly replied no way because I have some at home that is gross and when I think about it, I slightly want to puke in my mouth and something about wanting to make sure I like the flavor first. I’m sure he liked that…

Just so you know, these have passed my taste test!

HAHAHAHAHHA!!! Did you crinkle your nose in disgust? This is my “not so green monster drink”. But you know what? It is totally fruity good. It is so dark because I used a berry mix in it. Take that boring green drinks!! I was going to post this forever ago, but it seemed like EVERYONE was posting those green drinks. Today I felt like, why not? When you see what is in it, you might just try it.

What a power packed drink! If you don’t like spinach, first I raise my eyebrow at you, but then I tell you this is a perfect way to sneak it in!! If you want your drink to be a pretty color, skip the dark berries. If you want all the benefits of the dark berries, put it in a pretty pink cup and no one will know!!

So I totally just eyeballed making this drink. There was no ice necessary since the fruit was frozen.

I added:

1/2 banana

4-5 large frozen strawberries

1/2 cup frozen berries

spinach (by the handfuls!)

about half a cup of greek yogurt

nut butter (optional) I used Biscoff just to try it out. It wasn’t a deal breaker or maker.

If your shake needs thinned out, I added a bit of almond milk.

Blend all and power up!

Now for those protein fans…

OOOOHHHHHH!!!! This was smooth, creamy and very crave controlling!! Since I came home from a work out and was in a hurry to get my son to his doctor appointment, I felt that this was a good meal replacement.

What I used for this shake was:

vanilla protein powder (this one only has 9 grams of protein but also has 8 grams of fiber). I have higher protein type to try but since I had a protein bar at breakfast I thought this would be fine.

1 cup vanilla almond milk

1 TBSP better than peanut butter (any nut butter would do)

1 TBSP butterscotch pudding powder

1/2 tsp butter flavoring

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

10 ice cubes

So when I blended this up, it seemed a little thinner than I wanted. I was looking for a super thick shake. I added a couple small spoonfuls of the reduced fat cream cheese and it was PERFECT. Oh and I couldn’t resist crumbling up one of my kids mini Reece’s cup on top! I know, I know, what can I say? I’m not perfect!!

I’d love to hear some of your recipes for shakes and smoothies!

6 responses »

  1. Admittedly, I almost spit out my bagel I was chewing when I saw the first shake. LoL! Looks disgusting but I’m sure tastes GREAT. My good friend makes a green smoothie and all she uses is a pear, a banana, orange juice and two cups of spinach. THAT’S IT! I have to try it out, but she says no sugar or other flavors are needed and it tastes great.

    The protein one looks yuuummy. Sometimes I make a protein shake with chocolate protein powder, a cup of Silk Vanilla Light, half or whole banana, some ice and a tablespoon of peanut butter. In fact, I might have to make one today….

    Thanks for sharing these!

    • Ohhh a pear?! Never thought to add that. A family member gives us pears when they grow on their tree. Normally they are kinda tiny and just ok in taste, this might be a great use for them!
      Chocolate and peanut butter is a good combo, thanks for reminding me!

  2. Funny about competing at the gym…you must be my sista! I totally do that and kind of mentally berate people loafing around in the back row 🙂

    I am a big smoothie fan for post-work out. I like pro-grade protien powder from grass-fed milk of course and have recently discovered berry flavored greens powder. add some frozen berries and about 1/2 water, 1/2 contraband milk or almond milk and drink up!

  3. I’m normally not a shake drinker, but these both look delicious! Well, the first one LOOKS a little iffy but it sounds really good

Leave a Reply

