Stuffed!

Standard

This is one of those versatile meals! I love making stuffed peppers. Sometimes they are vegetarian and sometimes, like today, they are not. I promise in the future I’ll post an awesome stuffed vegetarian pepper that has pine nuts in it! So yummy!! But this time I was feeling this idea for a southwest pepper. I’m so glad I did because it was fantastic!

You can totally modify this recipe to work with what is in your fridge. I love this recipe because it is filled lots of great ingredients.

Here is how I made this pepper:

olive oil

1/2 lb lean ground turkey

1/2 onion, chopped

1 tbsp taco seasoning

2 cups brown rice, cooked

3-4 bell peppers, halved and seeded (I only used 3 because that is what fit in my dish)

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup frozen corn

1 jar of salsa (I used 24 oz but smaller jar would be ok too)

cheddar cheese

cilantro and sour cream (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400

2. Lightly mist peppers with olive oil and roast for 20-25 minutes.

3. Heat large pan with tbsp olive oil. Sauté ground turkey and onion and add in taco seasoning. When meat is no longer pink, add in cooked rice, black beans, corn and salsa.

4. When peppers are done cooking, remove from oven and carefully fill with meat mixture.

5. Top with cheese and put back into oven. Cook until cheese is melty and bubbly!

6. Remove from oven and serve on plate topped with sour cream and cilantro.

Serve!!  Adapted from Simply Love Food

I had some of the meat mixture leftover after making this meal. That was ok because it was used the next day!

The only new ingredient for this recipe was portobello mushrooms. Mine were a bit small so if you are serving this as an appetizer, I would go with larger stuffing caps.

I cleaned up mushrooms and removed the stems. I filled mushrooms with left over mixture and cooked until mushroom caps were almost completely cooked. I added a little cheese to each cap and cooked again until cheese was melted.

Perfecto!

One response »

Leave a Reply

