There is Pumpkin in This?

Standard

So where I originally learned about this combination of pumpkin and cake mix, I really cannot recall. But I can tell you, it has never failed me in making a dense, moist chocolate cake!

An Awesome Duo!

An Awesome Duo!!

Although I’ve made this cake several times before, I’ve typically just topped it off with a little whipped creme. Thanks to Pinterest however, I’ve had inspiration to make two other varieties!

Isn’t she so pretty!! What is even better? She has so much fewer calories and fat than a traditional cupcake! Probably a lot less sugar too but that is just my guess.

How do you make this lovely little lady? So simple!!

1. Combine 15 oz of pumpkin with one box of chocolate cake mix. There doesn’t have to be a specific type, I do like the devils food though! When mixing, the best was is really with an electric mixer. There is no need to add anything else!

2. Use cupcake holders and bake in a preheated oven at 350 for about 25 minutes. When filling cupcake holders try to smooth out batter as much as possible because they pretty much hold their original shape throughout baking.

Cupcakes are done!

As for the frosting?

You do not need two containers of whipped topping. Somehow two of mine were open so I had to combine them. I saw this recipe on 366 Days of Pinterest. I really like Kirsten’s blog because she tries all kinds of ideas she finds on Pinterest and then tells how they turn out. Sometimes they are failures, but this was a hit for her and obviously a hit for me! Speaking about Pinterest, you know what makes me crazy? The ideas that I pin where they don’t have links to tell you how to do whatever you’ve pinned, like recipes or hair styles. WHY????!!!!! Do you think they know they are doing that? Does anyone else get frustrated with that??

Fortunately the instructions were available for this frosting!

What you will do is combine one packet of the pudding mix with half of the milk called for on the package. Whisk together. Next fold in a container of cool whip.

Kirsten from 366 Days of Pinterest said that she found the instructions for this frosting here. I believe this frosting will be used in other ways in the near future!

So what else did I do with that cake mix combo?

Well first I baked this cake following the cupcake cooking directions. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray this time. I allowed the cake to cool overnight.

The next day I got these ingredients out.

A couple of things to note. When washing strawberries, give them time to really dry. When cutting the cake cut it in larger chunks or else they will fall apart on the skewer. And when skewering marshmallows they go on easier when they follow a strawberry!

So after skewering marshmallows, strawberries and cake (carefully), I drizzled them with the melted chocolate. I made these for a party and everyone loved them!

Recipe was adapted from hugs and giggles.

8 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you are enjoying the frosting! That is easily one of my favorite Pinterest finds. I’m definitely going to try the pumpkin and chocolate combo. I’ve only ever tried it with vanilla or spice cake mix. And those kabobs look awesome!!
    PS – It drives me crazy when pins don’t lead you to recipes or directions too! You aren’t alone!

    • Thanks! I think between the two the kabobs were my favorite. I fed them to a group of super picky eaters and they couldn’t tell the cake was low cal. Some people suggested brownies in lieu of cake but really this cake is very dense so it is almost brownie thick.

  2. Looks wonderful, I’m curious to find out if this trick will work with a gluten free mix. My girlfriend has an intolerance, so we’re always looking for ways to improve those recipes! I’ll let you know how it turns out when we make them.

  3. Ginger, thank you for liking attentiontoeating! Your site is beeaauuuuutiful! Tell me you can come over and take my food photos for me!!?? Ha! I can’t wait to try some of these out!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

