Best Day!

Standard

This weekend we had amazing weather! The sun was shining (finally!) and it was really warm! This was a perfect opportunity to get the girls out to play! I also snapped some update photos of the coop.

 

Not too shabby huh? We had an electrician come out to give us a quote on what it would take to run electricity out to their coop as well as the detached garage. That will hopefully get done very soon!

I  can’t believe how relaxing it is just to sit outside with and watch these little girls fight over bugs and worms. We spent the entire day outside getting an early start on weeding flower beds and the garden.

For a quick-lunch break, I wanted to have something fresh and simple tasting. I had been planning on trying out a recipe from Iowa Girl Eats and this was the perfect opportunity!

Cantaloupe with Prosciutto and Cashews! No nose wrinkling! You have to try this before you can knock it.

I will be honest, if I try a recipe and I don’t love it, I don’t post it. I don’t want you to waste any more time or money into a recipe that doesn’t do it for me. So this recipe, as weird as the combo may seem was great. Actually, I am planning on making it this summer for cookouts. The prosciutto is totally on top because I was afraid the cantaloupe would soften its crispness. My presentation isn’t perfect, I was too focused on wanting to get this made and get back outside!

So Iowa Girl Eats, has a super pretty picture of this same recipe. The only difference is that her Prosciutto doesn’t look like it was fried like mine. Oh and she has a fancy melon baller. How do I not have one of these??? Fairy Godmother, I would like a melon baller…and a Vita Mixer stat!

4 responses »

  1. Proscuitto and cantaloupe is a classic. Love the cashew twist! I’ll have to try that out.
    Those chickies are super cute.

Leave a Reply

