So New To Me

Standard

It seems like everywhere I look Quinoa is there. Chips. Check. Pasta. Check. Side dishes that use to include rice or pasta. Check andddd Check. Am I complaining? Heck no. I like trying new things. I’ll be honest, I think this might be ones of those things that you either like, or you don’t. You’ll have to let me know what you think. I’ve been toying with Quinoa in a few different dishes. This by far is one of my favorites.

Quinoa Cakes!!

I will be so happy when it is still daylight outside so that I can get better pictures! That or new lighting in my kitchen. Honestly, I think we should expect the sun to win that race 😉

If you don’t have Quinoa in your diet, you should give it a try. Quinoa itself is not only gluten-free, it is also high in protein. Whhhaaatttt.

So when I was trying to cook my Quinoa, it seemed to me that the best way to cook it was at a 1:2 ratio with a liquid for roughly 12-15 minutes. Just to add some extra flavor, I cooked mine Quinoa in chicken broth. If you want to make this vegetarian, cook in a vegetarian broth or water.

Note: This recipe is NOT gluten free!! Although with a few simple substitutions, I’m sure it could be.

This is what I used.

2 cups quinoa

2/3 cup mozzarella

3 tbsp flour

1 egg, beat

black pepper and salt to taste

1-2 tsp onion powder

pasta sauce (chunky would be best)

oil for cooking (I used a few tbsp of olive oil)

1. Combine all ingredients except pasta sauce and oil. Allow mix to rest for few minutes.

2. Heat oil in pan at medium heat.

3. Press out thin cakes with hand and carefully put into pan. (Next time I do this, I will make mine even thinner because I liked the crispness of the edges.)

4. Depending on the thickness of the cakes, flip at around 5 minutes and cook for about 5 minutes on the other side.

5. Serve with warmed pasta sauce.

Recipe Adapted From: Spoon Fork Bacon

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

