A New Take

Standard

What is better than one new meal idea? How about two! Today I have not only a new dinner dish for you, but a dessert to go along with it!

When I was a little girl, I occasionally went to this restaurant that served banana splits for dessert. The fun thing (in kid world), was that you got to draw out of a basket your price for the banana split. It could be anything from a penny to full price. Thinking back, I’m not exactly sure why this fascinated me since I never paid the bill. That is just how my weird mine ticks I guess.

Long story short, one day, I must have stuffed myself a bit too much and ended up so sick! I really never had any appeal for a banana split after that. Until I saw these.

Ok, this may be a different take on a banana split to say the least! My thought was, instead of covering ice cream in a bunch of different sauces, maybe these tropical flavors would be a great twist. And a new take on the banana part?

Dark chocolate covered banana slices! With a touch of sprinkles of course 🙂

So easy, totally fun and delicious!

Now about that dinner…

When I went to Sam’s Club over the weekend, I stocked up on some new foods. It had been a while since I’ve made pork chops and I loved the thickness of these chops so I picked up a pack. I was temporarily disappointed when at last-minute I realized I was out of my favorite BBQ sauce. Now what???!!! After digging around in my fridge, I came up with a new idea.

Italian pork chops! Don’t they look so juicy!? What I loved is that this recipe is breading free. Sometimes breading seems tedious to me.

Here is what I used:

3 thick cut pork chops

a mixture of salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder (roughly a tbsp combined)

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp honey

1 tbsp sweet and spicy mustard (or Dijon)

1 tbsp olive oil

mozzarella

spaghetti sauce (chunky preferably)

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2, Season pork chops with spice mix and oregano.

3. Mix honey, mustard and olive oil in shallow dish. Coat pork in mix.

4. Bake for roughly 20-25 minutes (always check meat doneness with thermometer).

5. Pull pork from oven and add mozzarella, turn heat up on oven to 425. Bake until cheese is browned (around 5 minutes).

6. Drizzle warmed spaghetti sauce over pork. Serve it up!

4 responses »

  1. These Italian pork chops look amazing! There is no better feeling than coming up with a meal idea with ingredients that you already have. I thought you might be interested in checking out our Simply Delicious Meals page on the Sam’s Club website, http://bit.ly/AtJURf, for more tasty and quick pork chop recipes. My personal favorite is the Maple-Mustard Glazed Pork Chops recipe, http://bit.ly/vZu2lN. Thank you for sharing your recipe AND thanks for shopping at Sam’s Club! – Carrie from Sam’s Club

  2. Pingback: Chicken Parmegsan | Five Forks

Leave a Reply

