Pizza Bites Done Right!

Standard

Initially I had other plans for how I wanted to use these ingredients. However because of time and lack of some supplies I had to reinvent my idea. So today, I bring you, Pizza Cups!!

Ok, so this might not be the best picture of them! Everyone was ready to eat and I may not have taken the time to get the best shot. I can promise you though, they were great. I don’t have the exact calorie count for these, but I would say a few of these in lieu of your regular pizza has to be way better for you!

I tested them out two ways. The first, pictured above, was in a metal muffin tin, sprayed with cooking spray, and layered with the cheese overtop of everything. The second, was in a silicon muffin pan with the veggies on top of the cheese. Without a doubt, the first way won. It wasn’t so much of a difference in taste, but the cheese cooked better and everything puffed up instead of shrinking down. Ok, so maybe taste was a bit of a factor. I’m going to guess and say that the silicon cooked slower? Perhaps the veggies, being on top, released more moisture and sorta made things a bit soggy too?

Here is a picture of the ones from the silicon muffin pan.

See what I mean?? Just not as pretty and like I said, they sort of sunk in. So make them right and go with the metal tin, layering cheese on top.

Here is what I used:

Egg Roll Wrapper (Wonton would have probably been better but I used what I had on hand. I just cut them to fit the muffin pan.)

Mozzarella Cheese

Italian Chicken Sausage (I’ve tried a few different types, I really liked the one pictured above!) I used 1 1/2 links in 12 Pizza Cups

Mushrooms and Banana Peppers or veggies of your choice

Pizza or Spaghetti Sauce

Cooking Spray

1. Lightly mist metal tin and set aside. Preheat oven according to temp on package of Wrappers.

2. Chop and saute any fresh veggies you are going to add (such as onion, peppers or mushrooms).

3. Fill each cup with wrapper. I doubled mine up for a sturdier cup. Add chopped sausage and about a tsp or two of pizza sauce, top with veggies and then top with cheese.

4. Cook in oven keeping a close eye on them for about 6-8 minutes or until cheese is golden brown.

Enjoy!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

