Sweet Mother!!

Standard

Today is an insane day for me professionally! I’m busy out of town doing something I’ve never done before. Training a group of others to do what I do. AH! I’m super excited but also super nervous. I hope I don’t say something stupid, like say “sex” instead of “six” or something. Hahahahaha. Although I strive to keep my job and blog separate, I just wanted you to know that I’m out there doing something totally new to me. Sorta the theme of my blog and all. I look forward to tonight when I can read up on what has been going on in blog world while I’ve been away.

Some days I wonder what people are doing to make their furniture look so bad! Is there a furniture abuse hotline?!?!

Please excuse the madness going on behind the nightstand. We were in the process of getting ready to move, so odds and ends were being piled in the mud room. This poor soul couldn’t come into my house until she got cleaned up. I bought her at a thrift store for $1.99. Although that was reasonable, her sister was $19.99 and in WORSE shape! WHAT??? Apparently because someone put a gross piece of dirty marble/granite something in the top that made it worth more? Don’t worry, I caved and bought her. Notice the ugly miss-matched piece of wood in the top of this one?? It didn’t stick around for long.

Little bit better right?? I still wasn’t happy with the top where I had replaced the ugly wood and painted a new insert. However it still wasn’t exactly right. I was glad because it made me really think and come up with something creative.

Isn’t this SO MUCH FUN!?!? I mean seriously, I reinvented two sad, beat up, ready for the dumpster night stands for no more than $30.00. I’m so proud of them! The pictures are safely covered in a plexiglass cover. I cut that stuff myself and it was TOUGH. One of these days, if anything happens to the plexiglass, I will have regular glass cut for them.  For right now, they are absolutely perfect.

What do you think?

6 responses »

  1. You are so talented, and I am inspired! I have a beautiful desk with ugly brown varnish like this had – how do you go about getting rid of the varnish? Chemically remove and then sand down?

    • Thank you ! I’m by no means professional. If you are going to paint your desk, I would just sand it. If you are going to stain or varnish it, you might need to chemically remove it. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

