Another Veggie Tale

Standard

For years I was a vegetarian. I am glad that I was, because it was in those years that I developed a taste for different vegetables, nuts and beans that I probably would have missed out on. Even though my diet has changed, I still enjoy cooking vegetarian dishes from time to time.

Vegetable Ravioli

Looking at that picture just makes my mouth water!! It is such a comforting dish and full of a rich variety of vegetables.

It should be clear now that when I cook I’m all about dumping in the kitchen sink. If I have the veggies on hand, they normally get thrown in!

I found these at my love’s, Trader Joe’s. If I were cooking for just me, I would have opted for a mushroom stuffed ravioli, however my husband “doesn’t like mushrooms” remember? Don’t tell him if you notice when I sneak them into a recipe.

The game plan

This dish is quick and easy to put together. Again, substitute if you don’t like something.

1 package of Ravioli

1 small onion chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 zucchini chopped

1 cup of portobello mushrooms sliced (SHHHHH)

1 can of fire roasted tomatoes (Drain if you use chicken broth or keep if you use a seasoning powder) Confused? Keep reading.

a handful or two of fresh spinach

about half of a small can of chicken broth (vegetable broth if cooking vegetarian). I used a dry broth powder and the juice from the can of tomatoes so use whatever you have.

cheese for sprinkling

1. In a medium size pot bring water to boil and boil ravioli following instructions on container. When fully cooked drain and set aside.

2. While ravioli is being made, on a separate burner turn heat on a large skillet. Add olive oil and turn heat up to medium. Add garlic, onion zucchini, mushrooms and cook until onion is transparent and veggies are soft. Add in some salt and pepper. Add in tomatoes and broth and bring the heat up.

3. Add in cooked ravioli and spinach. The spinach will seem like a lot but it will wilt into nothing in no time. Once everything is heated throughly and spinach is cooked down, you are ready to dish it up. Serve with a sprinkle of cheese.

Enjoy!!

5 responses »

    • Thanks! I seriously love it! I can’t wait for another trip to Trader Joes to try some other Ravioli flavors in it! Maybe one day I’ll get creative and try my own hand at making Ravioli from scratch.

  1. you stole the words right out of my mouth. i was vegetarian for 6 months and in between that time i tasted vegetables and foods i never ever would have thought id eat. right now i just eat chicken and fish…but eventually id like to stop eating it again. i cannot wait to try this recipe thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

