My Little Sweet Potato!

Standard

When people think of sweet potatoes, a lot of times they are either thinking of them as a side dish in the place of fries or a baked potato or as something that is slathered in butter sugar and spices and served again as a side dish at Thanksgiving. But how about as a main dish?

Sweet Potato Slam

Can’t see the sweet potato? We will work backwards but in short it is on the bottom just waiting to be mixed around. I love this recipe for many reasons. One is  if you have veggies hanging out in your fridge, this is a great dish to add in what you’ve got. This will be fantastic in the summer for all of you garden growers who quickly find yourselves piled high with zucchini, bell peppers, onions and whatever else. This is easily a vegetarian meal but with the hardiness of a meat and potatoes kind-of-meal. Also depending on your taste for spicy meals, you can really add in some heat which is complemented by the sweetness of the sweet potato. And don’t get me started on all the nutritional benefits of sweet potatoes!

So first thing’s first.

Get that sweet potato cooking. I pierced mine several times with a small steak knife and then set it down on a piece of foil. I then drizzled a bit of olive oil and sea salt on it before wrapping it up in the foil. I also poked a few holes in the foil. This potato was huge! I cooked mine at 400 for a good hour and 15 minutes. You could also boil or steam your potato but you’re on your own for that part!

Once the sweet potato is towards the end of its cooking time, I got all of my veggies ready.

Here is what I used, remember you can always substitute!

I used:

one half of a large onion, chopped

one green bell pepper, chopped

one half of a red bell pepper, chopped

two cloves of garlic minced

5-6 slices of jalapeno pepper minced finely

one zucchini chopped

one can of black beans rinsed and drained

about one can of tomatoes (I used tomatoes I canned at home so I only used about half)

one chipotle pepper, chopped (because I had them and they smelled so good)

I also later added a cap full of Rose’s sweetened lime juice and a couple of tbsps of cilantro but these are optional and everything will taste fine without them!

So in a large pan add a little olive oil. I used my Misto liberally.

Add in garlic, onion, peppers, zucchini, and jalapeno and cook over medium heat until onion is transparent and everything else is soft. Add in everything else (obviously except for sweet potato). Cook over medium heat allowing all the flavor to combine. If you need a little liquid you can add some of the tomato juice.

Once sweet potato is cooked, remove from foil and cut in half. I served this dish with only one half of my potato because it was huge. I chopped half and put it in the bottom of a bowl. Spoon the veggies over the sweet potato.

Top with your favorite toppings. I used cheddar cheese and sour cream. Dinner is served!!

Leave a Reply

