Not-cho Average Taco

Standard

Who needs fancy things.

When you have this.

" I love you...this much"

Geeze, those preschool teachers just know how to tap into my heart.  Did you have a good Valentine’s Day?

On to other things…

Taco rolls or sticks!!

Let’s be clear about a few things. I love snacks! But I also LOVE when I’m in control of what is in my snacks! Well today’s post could be considered a snack or a meal, either way, you’ll know what is in them! Now what to call them? How about taco rolls! Taco sticks?? Let me know what you would call them! Either way, I think you’ll call them delish!!

These are not only good the first day, but the next too! I just popped them back in the oven for a few minutes and gave them a little reheat. I think these are also great because you can switch up your stuffings to work with what is in your fridge.

The Game Plan

Yeah, you’re right. There are a few ingredients missing from this picture. Here is the run down of what you’ll need.

Egg Roll Wrappers

1 onion chopped

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed

roughly a cup of chopped portobello mushrooms (feel free to add more, my husband “doesn’t like them” so I snuck them in!)

1 can of diced tomatoes (I used leftovers that were canned, save some of the juice for cooking)

two tbsp cilantro or to taste (I used more because I love it)

1 bag pepper jack cheese (or your fav)

1 pound of ground beef

taco seasonings, you could use a packet but there is a great homemade recipe here. I used the homemade but omitted the oregano and used the cilantro instead.

salsa, fresh tomatoes, banana peppers, jalepeno peppers, lettuce and sour cream (or plain greek yogurt) as optional toppings

1. Heat large skillet and add beef, break up into fine pieces and add in seasonings. Add in onion and mushrooms and cook until both are soft and onion is transparent. Add in black beans and tomatoes. If mix seems dry, add in some tomato juice to allow mix to simmer so that everything gets seasoned well. I added probably 1/4-1/2 cup of juice. Allow mixture to cook down until it is nice and thick. It will become saucy when taken off the heat.

Allow mixture to cool down so that you don’t lose your fingerprints while making rolls. Unless you want to lose your fingerprints, then burn away. You should probably not be cooking for others though as that is a bit gross!

Lay out four wrappers and add a bit of pepper jack cheese to each wrapper. Top with mixture. With your finger, wet all four edges of your wrapper and fold in two opposite edges and then roll opposite edge from one side to the other, sealing in mixture. *Tip, if you get a little tear or something isn’t sealed, dab area with a bit of water and lightly pinch closed. Place on elevated baking rack so that both sides cook crispy. Spray  rolls lightly with cooking spray.

Heat at 425 for roughly 10 minutes.

Even though mine look a bit crispy, crunchy, they did not taste too done. If you’re worried, take them out a bit earlier. I loved these! I work in a place where portability is super important so I love that I can just pack a couple up and go! Fast food WHAT??

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Who Said Leftovers Are Lame? « …so I did it myself

Leave a Reply

