Peanut Butter Who?

Standard

First, let’s start completely off topic. Let’s talk about my hair.

Pretty cool huh?? So easy to do if you have long hair! Just part your hair like you’re going to do pigtails, braid them and tie each end off. And then take each braid and tie them in a knot. If you have long, long hair like I do, knot them again. Then just tuck the ties in, underneath the braids and secure with bobby pins. If you have super thick hair like I do, you really should invest in the mega size pins. They are the best!

Now about this peanut butter thing… My son I was responsible for bringing in snack to his school. I had planned on making peanut butter blossoms but substituting the peanut butter cookie part and making them with sugar cookie. WELL, I got a little busy with the Pirate Party Planning that I lost my mind and bought stuff to make peanut butter blossoms instead of checking to see if I had everything I needed for sugar cookies. Crap! That is totally not the word I used at the time. I mean it wasn’t a huge deal because I was pretty sure I had everything on hand for sugar cookies but I was annoyed that I had not put together a plan for the sugar cookies. Don’t worry, the peanut butter will get used up in no time! Once I settled down, I had an oh duh epiphany! BISCOFF!!

That’s right! Biscoff Blossoms!

What? Were you expecting them to be brown? Look, by now we both know I’m not completely normal! Wouldn’t these be great for St. Patty’s Day? I’m starting to love the idea of Biscoff. Not only is it super amazing in taste, but  families with nut allergies could use it as a substitution in so many things! My kids don’t have peanut allergy, but since I was sending them into a roomful of kids that I don’t know, I thought I’d be safe. And what the heck, Biscoff is super good too!!

Don’t like the green?? No worries, it is exactly the same color as peanut butter blossoms.

See I'm totally normal!

I modified a recipe I found in this container of Hershey recipes I received for Christmas a while back.

1 bag of Hershey’s Kisses, I used Hugs

3/4 cups Biscoff

1/2 cup shortening

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 egg

2-3 tablespoons milk (I started with two but towards the end added another splash because my mix was too dry)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

granulated sugar, I used green sugar sprinkles

Heat oven 375. Get your kids to unwrap your chocolates. I only used about 30-35.

In a small bowl, mix flour, baking soda and salt, set aside

In a large bowl, beat Biscoff and shortening with mixer on medium speed until well blended. Add both sugars and beat until fluffy.  Add egg, milk, vanilla, beat for about a minute. Slowly beat  in flour mixture. If needed this is where I added a little extra milk, start small and add a tiny bit more until it has a nice thick doughy consistency.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Press top with additional sprinkles, place on an ungreased cookie sheet. I used a pan with a silicone mat on it. If you don’t have one of these, they are so nice and not real expensive. Get one.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. When done remove from oven and press a chocolate in the center of each cookie. Cool cookies on a wire rack. My Hugs melted slightly but when they cooled they retained a small peak.

Enjoy!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

