Another Apple Pie Moment

Standard

So earlier this week, I told you all about my new loves. Today, I wanted to share with you what else I did with the apple pie filling. There is good news and bad news in this post. The good news is that this was yet another opportunity to indulge in a fantastic dessert. The bad news, I’m totally out of pie filling!! Now before you jump to conclusions (which on other days might be right on), today I actually shared my pie filling. What is wrong with me???

My parents came over for dinner. They have been so nice by helping out with the kiddos that I had to share.

Ramekin Apple Pies!!

I served these warm, topped with caramel ice cream. Everyone loved them!

These are absolutely the easiest thing to make and they present so well. Wanna know just how easy these are to make?? Well let me just say for starters that I’ve never been a big pie fan (other than pumpkin, but that really doesn’t count 🙂 ). It is something I would normally pass up at a cook out and I don’t recall ever buying one, let alone making one. So that should really tell you two things. One is that these are super easy to make. Second is that this pie filling is really that good! I’m certain there are tons of pie recipes out there, so perhaps if nothing else this will remind you of how great ramekin pies are and you’ll consider them for Valentine’s Day or any other special get together you have coming up.

To make these darlings, I started with a refrigerated pie shell that I rolled out on a lightly floured surface. I used the top of the ramekin to cut out a circle for the crust. Then pressed the crust lightly into the bottom of the ramekin.

crust. check.

Then I filled the ramekin leaving room on the top for your cut out crust and ice cream. So really about 1/4-1/2 cup is enough, I just eyeballed it.

Fill me up!

I then used my cookie cutter and cut out hearts with what was left of the crust.

Ready to bake!

I had asked for a toaster oven for Christmas and was surprised with this fancy convection oven-do it all-toaster over. I tell you that because I feel like there is a huge difference in the temperature I would cook using the new oven compared to my crappy “real” oven that I never use anymore. With that said, keep an eye on what you’re baking. I would hate for you to have something burn or be under cooked because my time and temp doesn’t match your needs.

I cooked these babies at 400 for about 20 minutes. At the end I felt like my hearts were not toasty brown enough so I jacked the heat up and cooked them for a few more minutes.  If you really want them a golden brown, just brush them with egg yolk before baking.

Bubbly Goodness!!

I would have taken a picture of these topped with the cold and yet melty ice cream, but they were inhaled served too quickly. So what is your favorite ramekins recipe?

Leave a Reply

