A Little Something Extra.

Standard

If I told you I had a recipe for BLT salad and Chicken Noodle Soup would you stay with me? What if I told you I have a little something special for you to consider adding to your currently favorite soup and salad, even if it doesn’t follow this recipe exactly.

Let’s start with the salad. BLT with a homemade dressing.

Yeah Buddy!!

The ingredients in this salad are few, but that doesn’t take away from the flavor.

What you’ll need:

Romaine Hearts, two chopped

Cherry Tomatoes, one pint

Avocado, one whole chopped

CrustY bread – just a good size chunk, chopped into bite size pieces

Bacon (4 strips)

and this

Grilling Cheese What??

This is a popular cheese with the low carbers. It can be pan grilled/fried/whatever and will toast on the outside but be melty on the inside.  I believe Queso Blanco will give you the same results. I used about 3-4 ounces and chopped (not too small).

This is a salad you’ll want to put together at the last minute.

Combine lettuce, tomatoes and avocado. Salt and pepper mix, throw in the fridge to chill.

Cook bacon throughly and crumble, set aside. Measure out about two tbsp of bacon drippings, reserve. Leave pan dirty but turn off heat so you can get the dressing started.

For the dressing:

1/2 cup light mayo, or regular if that is your thing

1/2 cup light sour cream, or regular

juice of about 1/2 lemon (or to taste)

2 tbsp honey

1 shallot minced

reserve bacon drippings

salt and pepper, for a bit of a kick you could add in a dash of cayenne

Mix all ingredients well. Slowly add in enough olive oil to thin out dressing enough to get it moving (about 2 TBSP). Dressing will be thick, that is ok. Taste and adjust seasonings to suit you. Mix some of dressing into salad and attempt to lightly coat veggies. You should have leftover dressing.

Turn heat back on the dirty pan to low and toss in crusty bread. Keep an eye on bread flipping until toasty. Set bread aside. Wipe of bits from pan and then grill cheese until toasty on each side.

When ready to serve salad toss bread, bacon and cheese into veggies and serve immediately. Keep leftover dressing in case someone likes to smother their salad or could be used on another salad later in the week.

Delish.

Now what to serve with such a wonderful salad? How about a cup of this?

Chicken Noodle Soup!

Hearty!!

What makes this recipe fun? Two different types of noodles!

Holla!

I swear I got the idea of using two types of noodles in my soup from Iowa Girl Eats. When I went back to link my info back to her recipe, I couldn’t find it! So Kristin, I tried, don’t worry you still rock. If I missed someone else, I’m sorry, and if you gave me this idea, you totally rock.

My uncle makes his own noodles. He is the head chef for an amazing restaurant. I never have and probably never will make my own noodles because of Gillie’s Noodles. Their noodles are Sick! Did you know Sick is a term of awesomeness? My friend has been saying it a lot lately so I just had to try it out.  Since these are a locally made noodles you may have to substitute with another brand of frozen noodles. Sorry. I could give you their number to see if they’ll send you some! 🙂

The other bag is Reames Dumplings. You will only use half a bag of the noodles and half a bag of the dumplings.

So what else do you need?

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp olive oil

2 carrots, thinly chopped

2 celery stalks, thinly chopped

small onion or 1/2 a large, thinly chopped

1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped

at LEAST 46 oz reduced fat low sodium chicken broth (noodles will suck your broth right up so keep some extra on hand)

3 sprigs thyme

2 bay leaves

salt and pepper

1 pound chicken breasts raw

So let’s get started! Chop those veggies and mince the garlic.

Ready to go!

Heat large pot on medium heat and add olive oil. Add onion and garlic and allow to soften. Add rest of veggies. Add stock, thyme, bay leaves, salt and pepper. Bring heat up to a boil. Add in raw whole chicken breasts and boil until chicken throughly cooked. Pull out chicken, sticks from thyme and bay leaves. Use two forks and shred chicken. Return shredded chicken to pot and discard bay leaves and thyme sticks. Add it half bag of dumplings and half bag of noodles. Cook over low-medium heat until noodles are soft. Right before serving, mix in parsley. Serve.

I hope you enjoy this wonderful combination as much as we do!! If you do try these recipes, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

