Warm me up buttercup!

Standard

As the weather gets cold outside, (off and on if you live near me!) I’ve started planning some cold weather meals. First up, Chipotle Chicken Chili!! This recipe was supposed to be something completely different (and someone elses recipe), but I didn’t have a bunch of the ingredients and instead had a bunch that wasn’t on this list. So this new recipe was born.

I'm So Zesty

Here is what you’ll need:

2 tsp olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups fat-free chicken broth

2 tsp chipotle chili in adobo sauce (more if you like the HEAT)

15 oz can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

2 cups frozen corn

14.5 oz can diced tomatoes

1 cup of marinara sauce

4.5 oz tomato paste

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1/2 tsp cumin

salt and pepper

2 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped into small pieces

scallions, shredded four cheese mexican cheese and sour cream for toppings (optional)

First warm oil in large pot. Add chicken and salt and pepper chicken. Saute chicken until no longer pink and lightly browned. Add in garlic and onions, cook until onions become soft and translucent.

Add in all other ingredients expect for those used for toppings. Bring to a boil and then cover and simmer on low for at least 30 minutes.

Simmer!

Finish off with a few toppings and dig in!

I hope this warms you up on a cold night!!

On another note, I got my first chicken picture from my dear friend Zoya.

Where is Waldo?

I got a kick out of it!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

