A Little Face Lift

Standard

First things first:

Hello Ladies!

Are they not adorable? Only $10.00 at my local oversized dollar general type store. They had silver, pink, royal blue and gold. TOOOOO perfect for Valentine’s Day and Easter! If you’re feeling crafty you could make them yourself. See Kate Sew, has a super easy step by step tutorial which can be seen here.

I’ve rambled so much about in the moment stuff lately, that I haven’t had a chance to share with you some of the face lifts I’ve put on a few pieces of beat up furniture.

This particular piece was an auction piece. I think my huz paid $7.50.

Before

She may not be pretty on the outside, but she is strong and sturdy on the inside. All of the drawers even roll well. After several coats of paint and some new hardware, say hello to my son’s new dresser!

After!

Gorgeous huh?!!

I’d also like to share with you a new recipe! The basis for my idea was this Oven Fried Chicken from skinnytaste.com. I actually made this recipe a few weeks ago. Although I enjoyed it a million percent, I’m not always feeling chicken drumsticks. I blame it on those years I was a vegetarian (bones still gross me out just a tiny bit).

So instead…I opted for boneless skinless chicken breasts.  The breading on these reminded me of the breading on the chicken parmesan at Olive Garden, so I thought why not? Also, although some times I do chicken parm with panko or traditional breading, I just like the way the bran flakes seems to seal in the juice of the meat.

Ingredients

2 ridiculously large boneless skinless breasts or 4 average breasts.

3 cups of Bran Flakes

favorite seasonings, I used 1/2 tsp of paprika, sea salt, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, dried oregano

light mayo (or whatever you normally use is ok)

sweet & spicy mustard, I used Woeber’s but if you just want to use what is on hand use any kind of Dijon or similar mustard. If you don’t want a little kick to your chicken, you could omit completely

sliced provolone cheese

marinara sauce (pizza sauce would work too)

Chicken Parm and Sautéed Kale with Bacon

Preheat oven to 400.

Crush cereal (either in a plastic bag or with a food processor) mix in all dry seasonings. Pour mix into a shallow bowl, set aside.

Mix mustard and mayo. I used roughly 1 tbsp mustard and 4 tbsp light mayo, coat chicken with mayo mix. Then, coat chicken in cereal mix. Spray top of breaded chicken with cooking spray (I used my Misto). To cook chicken, I put it on a sprayed rack so that they cook crispy on both sides.

Bake for 20-30 minutes depending the size of your chicken (check it with a meat thermometer if you’re not sure if yours is done or not!)  Coat top of chicken with marinara sauce and cover with a slice of cheese, bake for roughly 5 more minutes.

Let me know what you think!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Crock-Pot Turkey Philly « …so I did it myself

Leave a Reply

