Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Standard

20130315-122445.jpg

20130315-122606.jpg
I know what you are going to say, it has been a long time! I’ve missed you too. Things have been so chaotic! No matter how busy I’ve been though, I keep thinking of all the recipes I want to share with you! I’m totally hooked on these stuffed peppers. I have enjoyed theses so much that I have bought more ingredients for these at back to back shopping trips. I even look forward to leftovers.

20130315-123302.jpg

20130315-124439.jpg
The original recipe calls for cooked rice however the brown rice I had on hand is the super slow cooking rice and the quinoa cooks in about 15 minutes so I wanted to give it a try. If you have never tried quinoa, don’t be afraid! Quinoa takes on the flavor of you dish nicely. I cooked mine in chicken broth to give it even more flavor. Although both brown rice and quinoa are great for you to eat, quinoa has more protein, fiber, iron, magnesium and potassium. If you do try it out, remember to rinse it first.

20130315-124952.jpg
Aside from all of the health benefits of the quinoa, these peppers are also overall healthy and pretty low cal!

Recipe adapted from: skinnytaste.com
Here is what you will need:
1 lb ground lean meat (I’ve used turkey, beef and chicken so far)
3 large peppers (yellow, red or orange are all nice), rinsed, cut in half and seeds removed
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup cilantro (I love cilantro so I always use more, if you don’t you can use less)
1 small onion, chopped
1 cups fat free chicken broth (plus more if you replace water with broth when you are cooking quinoa)
1/4 tomato sauce
1 1/2 quinoa cooked
Olive oil
1/4-1/2 reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese (I used Cabot reduced fat white cheddar)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic

Set oven to 400. Start cooking quinoa as directed on package (replace water with broth if you desire). In a large pan, spray with olive oil and turn heat to medium. Add garlic, onion and cilantro. Sauté until onions begin to soften. Add meat and crumble. Add in garlic powder and cumin. Continue cooking meat until completly cooked. Drain off excess fat and return meat to the pan. Add tomato sauce and 1/2 cup chicken broth. Simmer for about five minutes, and then add cooked quinoa.

20130315-130847.jpg
Arrange peppers in a casserole dish, cut side up. Fill each pepper with meat mixture. Pour rest of the broth into the pan. Top each pepper with cheese. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 35 minutes.

20130315-190701.jpg
Serve!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

